How to Watch the Jurassic Park Series in Order

Jurassic Park series watch order guide

If you’re unsure about the Jurassic Park series watch order, you’re exactly where you need to be. The “Jurassic Park” franchise, with its intricate plot lines and numerous installments including spin-offs, presents a thrilling yet complex universe to explore. The best way to experience the gripping narrative is by watching the films in their release order. Luckily for fans, the chronological order aligns with this sequence. Let’s dive into a prehistoric adventure without missing any moment of the dinosaur-dominated spectacle.

How to Watch Jurassic Park Series in Release Order?

Watching the Jurassic Park series in release order ensures a seamless understanding of the evolving story and technology used in the franchise. Here’s a dinosaur-sized undertaking you won’t want to miss.

Jurassic Park Series Release Order

  • Jurassic Park [June 11, 1993 | Movie | 127min. | ★8.1 (932 000)]
  • The Lost World: Jurassic Park [May 23, 1997 | Movie | 129min. | ★6.6 (422 000)]
  • Jurassic Park III [July 18, 2001 | Movie | 92min. | ★5.9 (320 000)]
  • Jurassic World [June 12, 2015 | Movie | 124min. | ★7.0 (625 000)]
  • Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom [June 22, 2018 | Movie | 128min. | ★6.2 (292 000)]
  • Battle at Big Rock (Short Film) [September 15, 2019 | Short | 8min. | Not rated]
  • Jurassic World: Dominion  [June 10, 2022 | Movie | 147min. | ★5.6 (182 000)]

For the optimal cinematic journey, the release order vs chronological order debate ends quickly with the Jurassic Park series, as both are the same. This recommended order ensures the unfolding of the narrative as intended by the filmmakers and preserves the progressive development that reflects changes in CGI and storytelling. This sequence is ideal for first-time viewers as it presents the natural evolution of the story and for returning fans who wish to re-live the excitement of the series. 

Overview of the Plot, Storyline, and Key Elements of the Jurassic Park Series

The “Jurassic Park” franchise stands out with its thrilling escapades among living dinosaurs, a theme that has fascinated fans for decades. The series revolves around the idea of cloning dinosaurs and the moral and ethical implications that come with it. As characters struggle with control and chaos, the evolution of the story showcases varying paces, with some films focusing on non-stop action and others on building tension and suspense. 

The series features an expansive world, from the iconic Isla Nublar to the mainland chaos in the latest installments. “Jurassic Park” shares some similarities with other creature-feature films. But remains unique with its blend of science, adventure, and sometimes horror.

How Much Time Will It Take to Complete the Jurassic Park Series?

To watch all six main films and the short film in the “Jurassic Park” series would take approximately 15 hours. This includes the original “Jurassic Park” trilogy, the “Jurassic World” trilogy, and “Battle at Big Rock” short film. It’s a perfectly sized marathon for an exciting weekend!


From the moment John Hammond had a dream of an amusement park with live dinosaurs, to the moment the world must contend with these creatures in their backyard, the Jurassic Park series watch order shared here lets you experience the full thrill of this epic franchise. Following the recommended release order will give you the chronological flow of events as well. It’s time to embark on a cinematic journey that brings the ancient past thunderously into the modern world.

What do you think?

Written by Harper Davis

Twilight Saga Watch Order guide

How to Watch the Twilight Saga Movies in Order

Indiana Jones movies watch order

How to Watch Indiana Jones Movies in Order