Inuyasha watch order guide

How to Watch Inuyasha in Order

If you’re confused about the Inuyasha watch order, you’re in the right place. Inuyasha, a journey into the feudal fairy tale world, has captured many hearts with its unique blend of action, romance, and folklore. We’ll guide you on the best way to enjoy the series in its entirety. The best watch order coincides with the release order, which we’ll detail in this article, ensuring you get the full context and development of the story.

How to Watch Inuyasha in Release Order?

Inuyasha Release Order inforgraphic

Watching Inuyasha in its release order allows audiences to experience the series in the way it was originally intended. It ensures that the unfolding of plot points and character development remains consistent with the creators’ vision.

Inuyasha Release Order

  • Inuyasha  [Oct 16, 2000 – Sep 13, 2004 | TV | 167 episodes × 24 min | ★8.7]
  • Inuyasha the Movie: Affections Touching Across Time   [Dec 22, 2001 | Movie | 100 min | ★7.5]
  • Inuyasha the Movie: The Castle Beyond the Looking Glass [Dec 21, 2002 | Movie | 99 min | ★7.6]
  • Inuyasha the Movie: Swords of an Honorable Ruler   [Dec 20, 2003 | Movie | 99 min | ★7.9]
  • Inuyasha the Movie: Fire on the Mystic Island [Dec 23, 2004 | Movie | 88 min | ★7.4]
  • Inuyasha: The Final Act   [Oct 3, 2009 – Mar 29, 2010 | TV | 26 episodes × 24 min | ★8.5]

How to Watch Inuyasha in Chronological Order?

Chronological Order follows the narrative flow of the story and can be especially important for complex plots involving time travel or events spread out over long periods. As it turns out, for Inuyasha, this order aligns with the release order, allowing the viewers to follow the journey of Inuyasha, Kagome, and their companions as it was revealed by the show’s creators.

The debate among fans about release order vs chronological order often varies by series. For Inuyasha, these two orders are the same; thus, for first-time viewers or those looking to revisit the captivating world of feudal Japan, the best experience is found in following the release order. It perfectly builds the narrative arc, introduces characters progressively, and unravels mysteries in a paced manner. 

Overview of the Plot, Storyline, and Key Elements of Inuyasha

Inuyasha is an anime series that blends historical fantasy with time-travel. It follows the story of a modern-day schoolgirl who meets a half-demon from Japan’s feudal past. The show explores themes of loyalty, love, and conflict through dynamic character growth and a storyline that combines thrilling action and heartfelt moments. The world of Inuyasha is full of mystical elements and a rich cast of characters that make it comparable to iconic series like Naruto.

How Much Time Will It Take to Complete Inuyasha?

To complete the Inuyasha series, including all the movies and The Final Act, would take approximately 83 hours and 46 minutes, assuming you’re watching every episode (193 in total) and each movie.


In summary, the Inuyasha watch order is straightforward and aligns with its release sequence. This ensures that viewers experience the series and all its emotional pulls and action-packed adventures as originally crafted. Embrace the saga that spans eras and brace yourself for a thrilling immersion into the folklore-rich tapestry of Inuyasha.


Where to Watch Inuyasha With English Subs and Dub?

Inuyasha can be streamed on platforms like Hulu, which includes English subs and dub options for the series and the sequel Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon. Netflix also offers the movies with these audio options.

Where to Watch Inuyasha Outside the US?

Outside of the US, Inuyasha can be found on various streaming services, such as Crunchyroll and Funimation, depending on regional availability. Always check local listings, as streaming rights can vary

What do you think?

Written by Harper Davis

365 Days watch order guide

How To Watch 365 Days Movies In Order

KonoSuba watch order guide

How to Watch KonoSuba in Order